Concert - Dvorak 'Stabat Mater'

Sat, 16 Mar 2024

Joined by a quartet of soloists from Genesis Sixteen and supported by Assistant Music Director Nicholas Shaw at the piano, on Saturday 16th March the Reading Bach Choir performed the rarely heard original version of Dvořák's Stabat Mater under the baton of their Music Director, Daniel Mahoney.

The first half of the concert consisted of four a capella works:
Richte mich, Gott               Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
Christus factus est            Bruckner (1824-1896)
Os Justi                                  Bruckner (1824-1896)
Ave Maria                              Verdi (1813-1901)

Daniel Mahoney              Conductor
Nicholas Shaw                ​​​Piano

Ellen Mawhinney           Soprano
Rebekah Jones               Mezzo soprano
Michael Lafferty             Tenor
Michael Ronan                Bass-baritone

"The Stabat Mater was powerful, sensitive and moving."

"That was absolutely stunning.  I loved it. ... Looking forward to whatever you do next."

"This was a performance of fire and attack."
Henley Standard